ISU Picked Fifth in MVC Preseason Soccer Poll
Senior captain Shannon Durocher was a First Team All-MVC selection in 2006
Senior captain Shannon Durocher was a First Team All-MVC selection in 2006

Aug. 23, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

NORMAL, Ill.-The 2007 Missouri Valley Conference preseason women's soccer poll was released on Wednesday and Illinois State was picked to finish in fifth place. The Redbirds received 22 votes in the poll conducted by the league's coaches.

Evansville was picked to finish first in the conference, garnering 43 points, including four first place votes. Drake, the 2006 conference regular season and tournament champion, received the other three first place votes and were chosen to finish second. Creighton and Missouri State were picked ahead of Illinois State at third and fourth, respectively. Indiana State and Northern Iowa round out the preseason field.

"We were picked right around where I expected us to be," said head coach Drew Roff. "It is not about where you start, though, it's about where you finish.The Valley is a really tight conference and whatever team shows up to play can win on any given day."

The Redbirds were 6-9-3 in 2006, including a 2-3-1 mark in conference play. They tied for fourth place with Missouri State and received the fourth seed in the State Farm Missouri Valley Conference Tournament because they beat the Bears in the regular season. Missouri State won the first round game, 1-0, at Adelaide Street Field.

Roff enters his first season as head coach of the Redbirds with three All-MVC selections and a pair of All-MVC Freshman Team honorees from 2006. Illinois State visits IPFW on Friday, August 24, at 3 p.m. its final exhibition game.

The regular season opens at home against UW-Green Bay on Friday, August 31, at 4 p.m. Admission prices for the season-opener are $1 for students and $3 for general admission.



1. Evansville (4) 43

2. Drake (3) 39

3. Creighton 34

4. Missouri State 30

5. Illinois State 22

6. Indiana State 17

7. Northern Iowa 11

(First place votes listed in parenthesis)