Aussieker Named To CFPA Placekicker Watch List

June 26, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Illinois State junior placekicker Nick Aussieker has earned a spot on the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Placekicker Award, which was recently announced by the organization. 

"Congratulations to Nick Aussieker on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Aussieker had an excellent 2012 season -- converting 11-of-13 field goals, including 4-of-4 from between 40-49 yards."

The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning placekickers, vying for the top individual kicker award in the Football Championship Subdivision. All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

"Nick is a really hard worker and he deserves this recognition," Illinois State assistant coach Dan Shula said.  "He had a tremendous season last year and was very efficient. I actually think he has gotten much better this offseason and we expect him to be a big part of our team."

Aussieker appeared in all 13 games for the Redbirds in 2012, making 11-of-13 field goal attempts including a perfect 4-for-4 between 40-49 yards. He successfully converted 46-of-49 extra points and averaged 58.3 yards-per-kickoff with 19 touchbacks.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL placekickers include: Alex Henery (Nebraska), Blair Walsh (Georgia), Caleb Sturgis (Florida), Randy Bullock (Texas A&M), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), David Buehler (USC), Brandon McManus (Temple), Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State), Zach Brown (Portland State), Patrick Murray (Fordham), and Adi Kunalic (Nebraska).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics, tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.