ISU Voted into Second Round of Naismith Student Section Contest

February 7, 2014

NORMAL, Ill. - For the first time, Illinois State's Red Alert is one of 16 finalists nationwide for the 2014 Naismith Student Section of the Year Award contest. With the votes of Redbird fans, Red Alert could be named the Naismith Student Section of the Year for the Missouri Valley Conference for the second-straight year. ISU was the only MVC student section to advance to the second round.

ISU finishing in 11th place after the first round of voting, and will look to slide into the top-eight after the second round of voting has commenced. If the Redbirds succeed into the top-eight, Illinois State's Red Alert will advance into the final judging phase of the competition. 

Second Round voting is open now and will conclude February 19, at 10:59 p.m. CST. Fans can vote online at, on Facebook ( or on Twitter by using #RockIllinoisStcolors and #BestStudentSection in the tweet. Redbird fans can vote once per day for Red Alert as the top-student section in college basketball.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), an affiliate of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award will be determined through two rounds of public votes, combined with a scoring of finalists by the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors, which will review criteria such as the student section's name and attendance, as well as photos, video, and a write-up submitted by the nominating school. Complete details on the selection process can be found at

The winning student section gets bragging rights and receives $10,000 to be used in its general scholarship fund. Last year's basketball season marked the second Naismith Student Section of the Year Award contest, with Virginia Commonwealth (VCU) serving as the official winner of the 2013 competition. Your online source for Illinois State Athletics tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.